The second edition of our popular science fiction anthology is coming soon. Get notified »


The Best New Science Fiction

Inspired by today’s emerging technologies

The Authors

Cory Doctorow

Cory Doctorow Journalist, co-editor of the Boing Boing blog, and science fiction author, London-based Cory Doctorow won the 2004 Locus Award for Best First Novel for Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom. He was a finalist for the 2009 Hugo Award and won the John W. Campbell Memorial Award that year.

One of the masters of science fiction, Joe Haldeman is best known for his 1974 book, The Forever War, which won the Hugo and Nebula Awards. Living in Florida, he also teaches writing at MIT and continues to be an active author, winning the Nebula Award for Best Novel in 2005 for Camouflage.

Elizabeth Bear

Connecticut-based Elizabeth Bear came to prominence in the mid-2000s, winning the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2005, followed by many other awards including the 2006 Locus Award for Best First Novel for Hammered and the Hugo Award for Best Short Story in 2008 for “Tideline.” She was recently nominated for a 2011 World Fantasy Award.

Ma Boyong

Ma Boyong is a popular Beijing-based writer of short stories and novels. He fuses western conventions with traditional Chinese elements. For this first time appearing in English, his story for TRSF introduces a liberal dose of the satire for which he is well known in China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan.

Tobias Buckell

Born and raised on boats in the Caribbean, Tobias Buckell now lives in Ohio. A finalist for the Nebula Award for Best Novel in 2007 for Ragamuffin, Buckell is also a prolific short story author. Many of his stories are set in futures where societies are forced to adapt to the consequences of environmental damage.

Pat Cadigan

Pat Cadigan is U.K.-based American author. Best known for her cyberpunk fiction, she won the 1988 Locus Award for Best Short Story, and another Locus Award in 1990 for Best Collection. In 1992 and 1995 she won the Arthur C. Clarke Award for two of her novels and regularly has her short stories featured in anthologies.

Paul Di Filippo

Paul Di Filippo began publishing science fiction in the 1970s and has published hundreds of stories since. Based in Rhode Island, Di Filippo has been a finalist for the Hugo, Nebula, British Science Fiction Association, and Philip K. Dick awards.

Gwyneth Jones

English author Gwyneth Jones has been a leading feminist voice in science fiction for decades. She won the British Science Fiction Association Award for Best Short Story in 1998 for “Las Cenerantola,” while Jones’s novels have been nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award seven times, winning in 2002 for Bold As Love. Her novel Life won the Philip K. Dick Award in 2004.

By day, Geoffrey A. Landis works at NASA’s Glenn Research Center in Ohio on technology for space missions. As a science fiction author, he won the 1989 Nebula Award for his short story “Ripples in the Dirac Sea,” the 1992 Hugo Award for “A Walk in The Sun,” and the 2003 Hugo for “Falling Onto Mars.” His novel Mars Crossing won the 2001 Locus Award for Best First Novel.

Boston-based Ken Liu has worked as a programmer and as a lawyer, which he says are “surprisingly similar” professions. He has been regularly publishing science fiction short stories since 2003. He’s also translated a number of Chinese stories into English, one of which, by Ma Boyong, appears in this collection.

Ken MacLeod is a Scottish writer whose work often deals with political and class issues. His books and short stories have been nominated for the Hugo, Arthur C. Clarke, and British Science Fiction Association Awards numerous times, and The Night Sessions won the BSFA Award for Best Novel in 2008. His last novel, The Restoration Game, has just been published in the United States by Pyr.

Vandana Singh

Born and raised in New Delhi, Vandana Singh now lives in Massachusetts, where she is an assistant professor of physics at Framingham State University. She has been publishing science fiction stories since the mid 2000’s, and her work has been included in several “Best Of” anthologies.